Oscar, our Hero

First Published in City Press March 3, 2013

Growing up South African I have become aware of one thing, it’s not so much the fact that I can become anything I wish that is encouraged, but the fact that I can get away with anything should I so wish…images-16

I’m sure Oscar Pistorius has learned the same lesson. And just to affirm this, his family keeps putting their foot in their mouths. They should consider a sock rather.

Years ago, I walked into my high school boarding school dormitory a naive, fat-cheeked, cherub-shaped boy with a satchel full of goodies. One was an electronic diary an uncle had gifted me with. It was bulky and could store only 250 addresses, and impressed nerds more than it did the girls.

Still, I was devastated the day it disappeared from my locker. I looked everywhere for it, turning rocks over in the school fields in the faint hope of finding it.

As my hope waned, a senior stepped into the breech. He was a private investigator, he told me surreptitiously, and offered to help me find it. I accepted.

One day he bounded towards me with a huge smile. He had found it! And could recover it. He just needed a fee. In my delight I went to see my dorm master to call in my term’s tuck-shop money.

The dorm master was an investigator too, it seemed. He smelt a rat, hauled my hero in and extracted a confession from him. It turns out he was the villain that had stolen my device in the first place!

Here’s where things got interesting. The boy was suspended. I got my toy back, and the cold shoulder of nearly the entire school.

I became bitter. Why couldn’t the dorm master have left well alone?! I never even confronted the thief about it.

Looking back on the past month, much of the country seems like a little insecure Shaka, too afraid to hold our villains to account.

Remember how the brutal rape and mutilation of Anene Booysen brought about one of the loudest outcries we have seen decrying women abuse? Remember how we all thought that we were on the same page about the principles of abuse, even though we were still fumbling our way around what sort of campaigns would actually #StopRape?

Ironically, if not for his poor timing, Oscar Pistorius would have made a perfect role model for the #StopRape campaign. He was famous. People liked him. Unlike with blood donations no-one bothers to check,“have you raped or hit anyone in the past 12 months?”

His timing undermined the united front of the previous week. Now, many of us found ourselves making excuses for “poor Oscar” and some even rejoiced at the symbolic victory his defence team scored in his bail hearing.

I was amazed at how many lady friends sighed in relief – there was a chance their hero wasn’t quite the villain after all.

But they missed the point; a young woman had died in her lover’s home. And yet many of us secretly preferred that the dorm master leave things be. Oscar’s our hero, after all.

Such an attitude, of course, isn’t unique to this case; it happens in every sphere of our lives. Because in South Africa, we protect our own before we hold them to account.

Maybe we don’t want to be ostracised. Maybe we don’t want to slay our golden geese. Or maybe, we just have a lot of growing up to do…

Shout out to Mr Ahmed, my dorm master

One thought on “Oscar, our Hero

  1. On becoming, what are we referring to, the becoming of a rainbow nation or the becoming of an individual as part of the rainbow nation…
    The case of Oscar is an isolated high-profile case inflated by irrelevant media frenzy allegedly usurping the role of the courts…

    However, this case doesn’t prove nor disprove anything of what’s being alleged in your article…It is my contention that the courts should be allowed to act without prejudice, fear or favour in each matter before it.
    The current SA justice system has its flaws..even disadvantaged law graduates fall thru the crevices created by an apartheid notion of segregation still…Its sad what happens to the majority of law graduates that end their careers in having no jobs..?
    Firstly, I’d address the unemployment issue by introducing a one year paid compulsory in-service practical legal training for ALL at no cost by the state and thereafter, a two year compulsory (paid) community service for legal graduates (similar to that of medical students) by the state enabling them to qualify as a prosecutor and providing continuous professional development training to legal professionals (in the service of the state) every five years…

    On becoming…it is not desirable that one can get away with anything..but, rather that one silence that notion and address the real issues in the legal system, that of state lawyers being over-worked & underpaid…

Leave a Reply

